Gluten-Free Watch-Outs


Feb 4, 2016

Whether you’re adopting a gluten-free lifestyle for yourself or implementing celiac-friendly food options in your operation, it’s important to pay attention to detail when it comes to ingredient labels. Gluten is present in wheat, rye and barley products, but it can also show up in less obvious food items. Use this list as a reference for common gluten-containing ingredients:

  • Breads, flours and grains:
    • Barley, bulgur, durum, faro, kamut, matzo, modified wheat starch, oatmeal, rye flour, semolina, spelt, wheat flour
  • Other dry items:
    • Brewer’s yeast, imitation bacon bits, pastas
  • Liquid items:
    • Beer, broth, flavored coffees and teas, malt vinegar, salad dressings, sauces, marinades, gravies


Source: http://www.webmd.com/diet/hidden-sources-of-gluten